Reading the Hugo Award Winners


Reading the Hugos Banner

Here’s my plan: without setting a time limit or any such thing I’m going to read my way through the Hugo Best Novel Award winners. Yes, it’s been done before and by smarter chipmunks than me – I’m not doing this for originality’s sake. The more I read the more I’m aware of the holes in my reading and I guess, not knowing where else to start, I am trying to plug up some of those gaps. And, well, I love projects and lists and this combines those things.

I am ignoring the Retro-Hugos (for now at least), and I’m ignoring the novella and short fiction awards to start with because I suspect copies of those are going to be harder to get hold of which will make me disheartened. I’m intending to gain a sort of broad-stroke history lesson from doing this that will deepen my appreciation of how SFF has developed and changed over the years. With that in mind, I shall try to read the winners (especially the ones from before I was born) in roughly chronological order and when they are part of a series (as is the case with some of the Lois McMaster Bujold and Kim Stanley Robinson titles, for example), I shall do my best to read the rest of the series too.

I am also using Jo Walton’s An Informal History of the Hugos as a rough guide to things I may not otherwise know (being as she is a phenomenal reader and super brain), and an occasional kicking off point.


Links to my posts will be added as I go along. However, I am including links straightaway to my posts on Lois McMaster Bujold’s Cordelia’s Honor (which is comprised of both Shards of Honor and the Hugo Award winning Barrayar), and Philip José Farmer’s To Your Scattered Bodies Go. In Bujold’s case this is because I am eager to get on with the series and don’t see any value in repeating myself and in Farmer’s case it’s because there is no way I am reading that book again. Ever. Project or no project.


Hugo Award Winners for Best Novel

1953     The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester

1955     They’d Rather Be Right (The Forever Machine) by Mark Clifton & Frank Riley

1956     Double Star by Robert A Heinlein

1957     *Awards given only to periodicals this year*

1958     The Big Time by Fritz Leiber

1959      A Case of Conscience by James Blish

1960     Starship Troopers by Robert A Heinlein

1961     A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M Miller Jr.

1962     Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A Heinlein

1963     The Man in the High Castle by Philip K Dick

1964     Way Station by Clifford D Simak

1965     The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber

1966     Dune by Frank Herbert and This Immortal by Roger Zelazny

1967     The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A Heinlein

1968     Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny

1969     Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner

1970     The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula Le Guin

1971     Ringworld by Larry Niven

1972     To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip José Farmer

1973     The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov

1974     Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C Clarke

1975     The Dispossessed by Ursula K Le Guin

1976     The Forever War by Joe Haldeman

1977     Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm

1978     Gateway by Frederick Pohl

1979     Dreamsnake by Vonda N McIntyre

1980     The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C Clarke

1981     The Snow Queen by Joan D Vinge

1982     Downbelow Station by C J Cherryh

1983     Foundation’s Edge by Arthur C Clarke

1984     Startide Rising by David Brin

1985     Neuromancer by William Gibson

1986     Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

1987     Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card

1988     The Uplift War by David Brin

1989     Cyteen by C J Cherryh

1990     Hyperion by Dan Simmons

1991     The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold

1992     Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold

1993     A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge and Doomsday Book by Connie Willis

1994     Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

1995     Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold

1996     The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson

1997     Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson

1998     Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman

1999     To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

2000     A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge

2001     Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J K Rowling

2002      American Gods by Neil Gaiman

2003      Hominids by Robert J Sawyer

2004     Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold

2005      Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

2006     Spin by Robert Charles Wilson

2007     Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge

2008      The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon

2009      The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

2010      The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi and

               The City and the City by China Miéville

2011      Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis

2012     Among Others by Jo Walton

2013      Redshirts by John Scalzi

2014      Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

2015     The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu (translated by Ken Liu)

2016     The Fifth Season by N K Jemisin

2017     The Obelisk Gate by N K Jemisin

2018     The Stone Sky by N K Jemisin

2019     The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal